Glossary Search
  1. Match Words by:

Search Alphabetically:
0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | View All
Case Management

Case management is a service that helps people with disabilities to coordinate all of their services. A Case Manager is the person manages this process.


Medicare and Medicaid will only cover government agencies that are certified by law. To become certified certain health care providers (hospitals, home health agencies, nursing homes and dialysis facilities) are required to pass certain standards that are evaluated by a state government agency. Being certified is not the same as being accredited.

Certified Nurse Aide

(CNA) A Nurse Aide who has taken special training and passed proficiency testing. The certification is given by the state and entitles them to work in a facility or private home.


The CMS or Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services is a federal agency under the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS). It oversees the Medicare, Medicaid, State Childrens Health Insurance Program and the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPPA).


Bowel or bladder control

Continuing Care Retirement Communities

Continuing Care Retirement Communities (CCRC) combine independent living, assisted living, and a nursing facility under one roof.

Continuous Care

Home care services that are provided on an extended basis.

Convalescent Homes

See Skilled Nursing Facilities

Custodial Care

Care that primarily deals with activities of daily living like bathing, dressing, and supervision.

Tuesday, July 23, 2024